Mordor Server Preview: Monday July 1st w/Special Preview on Tuesday July 2nd - OPEN (2024)

H

Harvain

Well-known member
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #21

istvana said:

That isn't how I read it at all. I read it that the new servers would have a new difficulty system. Instead of having explosions go off now and then, wraiths would appear now and then. Wraiths suitable for the character to fight just as the old explosions were survivable if the player was careful.

At maximum level instead of a regular wraith, now and then one of the Nine would appear. THAT is what no one character could fight and barring a group or raid able to do so, the only way to survive would be to leave the area.

The point that was raised that I was focusing on is whether this system would apply *only* if one elected a high difficulty. That is how it always has worked and how it works now under the current system. Elect normal difficulty or even moderate difficulty and you do not get the explosions. They are only there at the highest difficulty settings. I assumed and hoped that wraiths would work the same way.

One thing mentioned was that a Player who "has a Wraith targeting them" would have "some time to run".

So it seemingly isn't going to be an "automatic" thing where one moment you are just doing your thing & the next you have the Witch King of Angmar looming over you and ready to strike you down. There is a lot that will only be understood once the System is actually available & being tested. Especially with how X amount of Players be able to assemble.

An example: What happens if a Wraith is going to spawn in some remote part of LOTRO that isn't that accessible?

  • How are Players going to be able to gather by several dozen to fight?
  • What amount of time will there be between a "Wraith is spawning" and Players being able to assemble?
  • If a Wraith does spawn but doesn't fight does it auto-despawn after a while? Remain until defeated?

Devolved

Well-known member
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #22

Harvain said:

....
An example: What happens if a Wraith is going to spawn in some remote part of LOTRO that isn't that accessible?

  • How are Players going to be able to gather by several dozen to fight?
  • What amount of time will there be between a "Wraith is spawning" and Players being able to assemble?
  • If a Wraith does spawn but doesn't fight does it auto-despawn after a while? Remain until defeated?

Spitballing upwind here...

Perhaps a World (Regional?) announcement &/or pop-up quest like RTs do, with an added option to Transport to the location...

*dodges returning spitball* Mordor Server Preview: Monday July 1st w/Special Preview on Tuesday July 2nd - OPEN (2)

H

Harvain

Well-known member
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #23

Devolved said:

Spitballing upwind here...

Perhaps a World (Regional?) announcement &/or pop-up quest like RTs do, with an added option to Transport to the location...

*dodges returning spitball* Mordor Server Preview: Monday July 1st w/Special Preview on Tuesday July 2nd - OPEN (3)

Yeah, we were really given very little info on what the Upcoming New Legendary Servers are bringing. So it's going to be interesting how the initial concept works and what adjustments will be made.

I just hope we see different fighting styles & even rotations for how the Wraiths fight, so it's not a "Oh, we've fought all the Nine once, here's how they fight." and players just have the way to fight them all worked out within days of when the Servers Launch.

The Lord of the Nazgul, Witch King of Angmar, especially should be "handing the Players their butts" for a good while with this whole "Veil of the Nine".

IcarusLSC

Active member
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #24

P

Pewpewmidget

Well-known member
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #25

IcarusLSC said:

Great, more lag and no NA servers...

Considering that Mordor is their first European server in years,
it makes more sense to beta test it over a NA server.

They did announce they were going to open up a NA server, though.

Devolved

Well-known member
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #26

Harvain said:

....

The Lord of the Nazgul, Witch King of Angmar, especially should be "handing the Players their butts" for a good while with this whole "Veil of the Nine".

"No man can kill me..." - only a female character can get in the killing blow on him.

Gekh

Well-known member
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #27

Hope all work well. Good luck guys!!!

Gekh

Well-known member
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #28

IcarusLSC said:

Great, more lag and no NA servers...

Try working on the existing servers/game instead of losing people/customers...

Opening EU server wont lead to pop loss. Oposite, will bring new ppl, and bring back ppl who quit because of constant 150ms latency. Even when server performance is great, distance lag is here for us/ eu players. So i personaly will give the EU server a try.

M

Maryna

Well-known member
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #29

Could you provide us with the location of the datacentre either country/city and the corresponding IP for ping and tracert that gls.lotro.com provides us currently.

To plan where I should move too; Martinique, Chișinău or closer to home?

I'm crossing fingers in the hope i

t's: NTT Global Data Centers HH2150 Maylands Avenue Hemel Hempstead HP2 7DF UK and I can stay put. Will understand if it's Amsterdam for all our benefit however.

P.S. Will it be closed after 2 to 3.5 years if we end with a thriving population catching up to main server cap?

Thanks in advance.

L

LeftMono

Well-known member
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #30

istvana said:

I hope this is true. I hate a character dying even when the penalty is trivial and if a wraith can randomly appear and kill me if I have to step away for 30 seconds for family or doorbell aggro it will be really annoying.

what's "doorbell aggro" ?

P

Pewpewmidget

Well-known member
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #31

LeftMono said:

what's "doorbell aggro" ?

It's when you have someone ring the doorbell and you have to answer the door.

Snjorblom

Member
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #32

I'll be at work until about 6pm Eastern. Would I still be able to fiddle with it after I get off work? It sounds like the testing will be several hours earlier.

Hecki

Active member
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #33

If this works with the EU servers, are you already thinking about transferring the current EU servers to the EU location, too?

I

istvana

This *is* the other place.
  • Jun 29, 2024
  • #34

My hope is that having this one server in Europe is very much a test and, yes, they will move the other servers over if all works well and it is not too expensive.

I will go to Angmar since I am not in Europe but I very much support the focus on Mordor. Firstly, testing a European/64-bit server gets to test two different things, both important. Not just one. Secondly, our European colleagues have had to suffer with transatlantic lag for far too many years and having a server over there should get priority.

auximenes

Well-known member
  • Jun 30, 2024
  • #35

IcarusLSC said:

Great, more lag and no NA servers... Try working on the existing servers/game instead of losing people/customers...

Slow your roll ungrateful one. They are testing the new 64-bit architecture on the new EU servers first, and eventually applying it to the larger-population NA servers.

H

Harvain

Well-known member
  • Jun 30, 2024
  • #36

Hecki said:

If this works with the EU servers, are you already thinking about transferring the current EU servers to the EU location, too?

I wouldn't bet on seeing such in either 2024 or 2025 and maybe even ever.

We're more than likely going to see the need for all the "ducks in a row" for various things first, things the SSG LOTRO Team have spoken about & Behind the Scenes aspects we aren't privy to.

How said Server goes, how things go with 64-bit, other Improvements, how much it "adds to Standing Stone Games collective workload" for their LOTRO + DDO Teams, and various other factors will be key for such a potential thing to happen. Unless we'd see "massive & immediate" results, it's safe betting this will be a "Long Term Process" they keep an eye on, assess & consider over time, and then "maybe" one day move the "EU LOTRO Servers" over to the EU Server Host Location.

But one shouldn't bet on this, one shouldn't wait on this, and one shouldn't make this something that "They will only play LOTRO when ALL the EU Servers on hosted in Europe!" because the likelihood this occurs is low right now in June 2024.

Last edited:

TRON

Member
  • Jun 30, 2024
  • #37

Hopefully this testing means they are looking forward to having live EU servers again. Fingers crossed. Hope we all get free transfers if long term members to new servers Mordor Server Preview: Monday July 1st w/Special Preview on Tuesday July 2nd - OPEN (12) I lost all my old characters on old eu servers as didn't know they were closing after a few years break. Started from scratch but yeah playing on EU servers but servers physically/actually based in US with 120-150 pings is not great, although since I am only lvl 58 and still completing Eriador I have had no lag that is really bad yet. Here is hoping for actual UK/EU servers one day again.

Halfbarad

New member
  • Jun 30, 2024
  • #38

This is amazing news for EU players ! I appreciate this so much. I will be there !

Hartagil

Member
  • Jun 30, 2024
  • #39

Can anyone shed light on the question that has not been addressed yet? Namely does this new server in EU Data Centre allow for multi-core threading of my PC? or maybe that is dependent on the client and not the data server

C

-CasualGamer-

Well-known member
  • Jun 30, 2024
  • #40

How big is the low-res version of Bullrooarer? I want to know how many other games I have to move to my USB stick to install it.
Edit, seems to be 37GB initial install.

Gekh said:

Opening EU server wont lead to pop loss. Oposite, will bring new ppl, and bring back ppl who quit because of constant 150ms latency. Even when server performance is great, distance lag is here for us/ eu players. So i personaly will give the EU server a try.

Likely it will but temporarily. I think it's in the interests of people on the existing servers to run fun, small events to keep numbers up.

TRON said:

Started from scratch but yeah playing on EU servers but servers physically/actually based in US with 120-150 pings is not great, although since I am only lvl 58 and still completing Eriador I have had no lag that is really bad yet. Here is hoping for actual UK/EU servers one day again.

On a non-arcade game like this, 120 ping isn't bad at all. I wonder whether another 90ms ping makes any significant difference. However, that's not all they're doing -- see below.

Hartagil said:

Can anyone shed light on the question that has not been addressed yet? Namely does this new server in EU Data Centre allow for multi-core threading of my PC? or maybe that is dependent on the client and not the data server

Threading on servers has existed since the beginning. You can't do multiplayer games without threading on the server.
At some point, SSG implemented a separate thread for most graphics on the client. It is generally hard as nails to implement more threading than that. The only possibility that comes to mind is client-side collision detection/pathing as server-side is somewhat broken/inefficient and they might rewrite it -- pure speculation though.

IcarusLSC said:

Great, more lag and no NA servers...

Try working on the existing servers/game instead of losing people/customers...

Creating new separate servers probably won't increase lag though SSG often talk of a separate data server. More players overall might increase lag.
Instead, SSG have been working on more lag visible to them. A bug in server-side pathing causes lag and they are testing a fix for it on the new servers. For reasons best known to them, loading instance data from disk also causes unnecessary lag. They have a kludge for this which is 'preloading' instance data, something which is made possible by switching to 64-bit servers.

Last edited:

You must log in or register to reply here.

Mordor Server Preview: Monday July 1st w/Special Preview on Tuesday July 2nd - OPEN (2024)

References

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Eusebia Nader

Last Updated:

Views: 6799

Rating: 5 / 5 (80 voted)

Reviews: 95% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Eusebia Nader

Birthday: 1994-11-11

Address: Apt. 721 977 Ebert Meadows, Jereville, GA 73618-6603

Phone: +2316203969400

Job: International Farming Consultant

Hobby: Reading, Photography, Shooting, Singing, Magic, Kayaking, Mushroom hunting

Introduction: My name is Eusebia Nader, I am a encouraging, brainy, lively, nice, famous, healthy, clever person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.